Sait Halim Pasa Yalisi

 

Built As A Sea Shore Palace, Sait Halim Pasa Yalisi Reflects The Magnificence Of The Period

 

Mansion of Sait Halim Pahsa was built towards the end of the 19th century, by Prince Abdiilhalim, the son of Meh- med Ali Pahsa of Egyptian Hidivs, as a sea shore palace. The brother of the prince, Sait Halim Pasha, the name-bearer of the mansion, was born in Cairo in 1863 and was appointed to the position of Grand Vizier of the Otoman state in 1913. The architecht-master Petraki Adamandidis from (lanakkale was the architecht of this mansion that bears the name of Sait Halim Pasha who was killed in Rome in 1921.

The Mansion With Lions

Also known as the ‘Mansion with Lions’ by virtue of the two lion statutes in front of the gate that leads to the men’s garden, the Mansion of Sait Halim Pasha, watches the Bosphorous from Yenikoy. The famous lions of the mansion have come from Italy and Germany. The mansion, designed for housing the women’s and men’s sections under the same roof, includes ornaments throughout its interior walls and ceilings that blend with Ottoman and Eygyptian style furniture. The base of the mansion was constructed out of marble and this aspect of the building both provides humidity and cool air circulation.

Burning History

– After being sold to the Tourism Bank in the 1960s by the heirs of Sait Halim Pasha, the mansion was used as a casino and a ceremony hall until the 1980s. Between 1980-84, the Tourism Bank made the TAQ foundati- onfTurkish Monument and Environment Conservation Foundation) restore the mansion, in order to use it in of-ficial receptions and meetings of the Office of the Prime Minister. The mansion’s garden was rented to a night club during those dates.

Also used as the Office of the Prime Minister’s ‘summer residence,’ the mansion of Sait Halim Pasha partially burned down in a fire, the cause of which is unknown, at the end of 1995. the restoration efforts following the fire, were completed in the year 2002 and the Mansion of Sait Halim Pasha acquired its orginal appearance of 1890 instead of its restored version before the fire.

 

 

Standard